Curry wins Sportsmanship Award

Discuss anything related to Golden State Warriors basketball here

Moderators: Mr. Crackerz, JREED, Guybrush, 32

User avatar

All Star
Posts: 1027
» Thu May 05, 2011 3:19 pm
Warriors' Stephen Curry wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

Posted May 5 2011 5:20PM

NEW YORK, May 5, 2011 -- Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

Curry (Pacific) was one of six divisional winners, which included Charlotte's D.J. Augustin (Southeast), Chicago's Luol Deng (Central), New Jersey's Deron Williams (Atlantic), Portland's LaMarcus Aldridge (Northwest), and San Antonio's George Hill (Southwest).

Curry received 88 first-place votes (2,445 total points) of a possible 347. The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Curry to Habitat For Humanity East Bay, which uses volunteers to build affordable homes in Alameda and Contra Costa counties.

For the seventh consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Rolando Blackman, John Crotty, Mark Jackson, and Eddie Johnson selected the six divisional winners from a pool of 30 team nominees. Each team nominated one of its players for this award.

The NBA will make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: Communities Foundation of Texas on behalf of Aldridge; Addie's Angels and Smyles for Myles (donation will be split evenly) on behalf of Augustin; Luol Deng Foundation on behalf of Deng; Point of Hope Foundation on behalf of Williams; and George Hill Rising Stars Foundation on behalf of Hill.

2010-11 NBA Sportsmanship Award voting
Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Points
Stephen Curry, Golden State 88 69 60 54 45 31 2445
Luol Deng, Chicago 84 76 52 45 53 37 2393
LaMarcus Aldridge, Portland 56 49 66 63 62 51 2071
George Hill, San Antonio 42 61 68 61 71 44 2049
D.J. Augustin, Charlotte 27 43 66 72 63 76 1771
Deron Williams, New Jersey 50 49 35 52 53 108 1763

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Following is a list of this year's voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:

Previous Winners
2010-11 - Stephen Curry, Golden State
2009-10 - Grant Hill, Phoenix
2008-09 - Chauncey Billups, Denver
2007-08 - Grant Hill, Phoenix
2006-07 - Luol Deng, Chicago
2005-06 - Elton Brand, L.A. Clippers
2004-05 - Grant Hill, Orlando
2003-04 - P.J. Brown, New Orleans
2002-03 - Ray Allen, Seattle
2001-02 - Steve Smith, San Antonio
2000-01 - David Robinson, San Antonio
1999-00 - Eric Snow, Philadelphia
1998-99 - Hersey Hawkins, Seattle
1997-98 - Avery Johnson, San Antonio
1996-97 - Terrell Brandon, Cleveland
1995-96 - Joe Dumars, Detroit
User avatar

All Star
Posts: 1119
» Thu May 05, 2011 5:23 pm
Good for him, Good for the Bay Area. Money well spent.
User avatar

Starting Lineup
Posts: 925
» Thu May 05, 2011 6:08 pm
At least we won in something...someone had to say it :)

Posts: 5370
» Fri May 06, 2011 5:11 am
Look at those names, and it shows it is a good list to be in... talented players (most were all stars) who were well respected. Way to go Steph!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests